December 17, 2017

Astro-Vid Of the Week: Watch the Launch of Soyuz TMA-10M

Expedition 37/38 crew ready for launch!

(Credit: NASA/Victor Zelentsov).

The human population in space is about to increase by three this week with the launch of a Soyuz-FG rocket from the Baikonur Cosmodrome Wednesday night at 20:58 Universal Time/4:58PM Eastern Time.

This launch will put Roscosmos cosmonauts Oleg Kotov & Sergei Ryazansky and NASA astronaut Michael Hopkins on a our orbit, six hour fast track to the International Space Station. There they’ll join fellow Expedition 37 crew members Fyodor Yurchikhin, Karen Nyberg & Luca Parmitano aboard the ISS until returning in March of next year. Soyuz TMA-10M will also do duty as an “escape pod” for the next Expedition 38 crew.

The crew arrived at Star City earlier this month to begin final preparation for liftoff tonight. It’s always fun to watch them go through the rituals laid down by Yuri Gagarin’s legacy of his historic 1961 flight, as well as the rollout and prep of Soyuz. And unlike US launches, you’ll get an “in cabin feed” live throughout all stages of the launch:



Live streaming video by Ustream

NASA TV is set to carry the launch coverage live starting at about an hour prior at 20:00 UT/ 4PM EDT. Also, be sure to return to NASA TV about three hours after launch for coverage of the docking of Soyuz to the Poisk module of the ISS starting at 2:00UT/10:00 PM EDT.  Docking is set to occur at 2:47 UT on September 26th or 10:47PM EDT for US viewers the evening prior.

Be sure to catch the orbital action live as the drama of human spaceflight continues!

Speak Your Mind

*