June 17, 2019

Astronomy Video of the Week: NASA in Action

ISS as seen from STS-132.

Image credit: NASA

Thereís lots of live action underway this week both on Earth and in orbit, all of which is live on NASA TV.

Ready? There are lots to cover, so weíll do this rapid-fire style. First up this AM is a scheduled spacewalk for Expedition 44 Russian cosmonauts Gennady Padalka and Mikhail Kornienko. The spacewalkers will be performing a variety of tasks over a 6.5 hour span, including retrieval of external experiments, upgrading hardware, and photographing the station exterior. The EVA begins today at 9:45 AM EDT/13:45 UT, and NASA TV will go live 15 minutes prior:

Next, NASA will be testing its massive RS-25 engine at the Stennis Space Center in Mississippi the massive engine is part of the new SLS rocket system, which will ultimately take humans beyond low Earth orbit. The first launch of the SLS is slated for 2018. The test occurs on Thursday, August 13th, and NASA TV will go live starting at 4:30 PM EDT/20:30 UT.

And turning back towards orbit, Progress 58 will be undocking on Friday August 14th at 6:19 AM EDT/10:19 UT for a destructive reentry; NASA TV will go live 19 minutes prior.

And finally, a Japanese Space Agency H-2A rocket will be lifting off from Tanegashima, Japan on Sunday, August 16th at 9:01 AM EDT/13:01 UT with the HTV-5 resupply vehicle headed to the ISS. NASA goes live 45 minutes prior.

Donít miss all of the space action; itíll be a fun and busy week!

Speak Your Mind

*