October 18, 2017

October 2013: This Month in Science Fiction

October is our favorite month of the year. Not only is it largely free of snow, bugs and sweltering heat, but it also includes the closest thing that science fiction has to a holiday, Halloween. Hey, it’s great to see suburbanites carve out totems from vegetables, honoring a dimly remembered cross-quarter pagan holiday.  Halloween sees us carrying out the rituals of replaying the original Mercury Theater H.G. Well’s War of the Worlds broadcast, setting up the scope for neighborhood ghosts and goblins, and once again carving jack o’ lanterns in an effort to assure that this will be the BEST HALLOWEEN, ever. [Read more...]

August 2013: This Month in Science Fiction

This month’s science fiction action is as hot as an August summer. Have you caught Europa Report? How ‘bout Elysium? Or After Earth, or the Tom Cruise science fiction adventure Oblivion? Even the superhero adventures have been hotter than ever, from The Man of Steel to Iron Man 3. Smashed moons, from Krypton’s Wegthor  to Earth’s very own Luna are now in vogue, but otherwise, there has been nary a dud in the summer sci-fi season. And the year’s not over, as we anticipate Hunger Games: Catching Fire, Enders Game and Gravity for the Fall cycle of movies as well.   [Read more...]

Review: Portal by Eric Flint and Ryk E. Spoor

On Sale Now!

Something amazing lurks under the ice of Europa.

This week, we take a look at Portal, the new and exciting science fiction thriller by Eric Flint and Ryk E. Spoor out from Baen Books. The sequel to Boundary and Threshold, Portal is hard science fiction in the tradition of Ben Bova, Hal Clement and Arthur C. Clarke. If you’re a fan of the old rockets and rayguns sci-fi with a tale based in hard science, Portal is for you. [Read more...]